Baz Luhrmann's The Great Gatsby will kick off the 66th Cannes Film Festival on May 15 in the South of France. The event is set to close on May 26 with Zulu, directed by Jérôme Salle. Cannes organizers announced a competition lineup for the 2013 fest that includes new movies from the Coen Brothers, Arnaud Desplechin, Asghar Farhadi, James Gray, Takashi Miike, Francois Ozon, Alexander Payne, Roman Polanski, Steven Soderbergh, Jia Zhangke and more. 

Despite criticism last year about a lack of women at the festival, organizers today unveiled a roster that includes Valeria Bruni-Tedeschi (Un Château En Italie) as the sole woman in competition. However, the Un Certain Regard section is lead by Sofia Coppola's The Bling Ring as the opening movie on a roster that also includes Flora Lau's Bends, Rebecca Zlotowski's Grand Central, Valeria Golino's Miel, Clair Denis' Les Salauds and Chloé Robichaud's Sarah Preferes La Course

There are no films by first time directors in competition, however the Un Certain Regard lineup offers Ryan Coogler's Fruitvale Station from this year's Sundance fest, as well as Diego Quemada-Diez's La Jaula de Oro and the featur debuts of Golino, Lau and Robichaud. Amit Kumar's midnight title, Monsoon Shootout, and Taisia Igumentseva's special screening Bite The Dust (Otdat Konci) are also debut features.

Here's the list of films announced today:

Behind The Candelabra, directed by Steven Soderbergh
Borgman, directed by Alex Van Warmerdam
Un Château En Italie, directed by Valeria Bruni-Tedeschi
La Grande Belleza (The Great Beauty), directed by Paolo Sorrentino
Grisgris, directed by Mahamat-Saleh Haroun
Heli, directed by Amat Escalante
The Immigrant, directed by James Gray
Inside Llewyn Davis, directed by Ethan Coen, Joel Coen
Jeune Et Jolie, directed by Francois Ozon
Jimmy P. (Psychotherapy of a Plains Indian), directed by Arnaud Desplechin
Michael Kohlhass, directed by Arnaud Despallieres
Nebraska, directed by Alexander Payne
Only God Forgives, directed by Nicolas Winding Refn
Le Passe (The Past), directed by Asghar Farhadi
Soshite Chichi Ni Naru (Like Father, Like Son), directed by Kore-eda Hirokazu
Tian Zhu Ding (A Touch of Sin), directed by Jia Zhangke
La Venus a La Fourrure, directed by Roman Polanski
La Vie D'Adele, directed by Abdellatif Kechiche
Wara No Tate (Shield of Straw), directed by Takashi Miike

Out of Competition
All Is Lost, directed by J.C. Chandor
Blood Ties, directed by Guillaume Canet
The Great Gatsby, directed by Baz Luhrmann (opening night)
Zulu, directed by Jérôme Salle (closing night)

Special Screenings
Muhammad Ali's Greatest Fight, directed by Stephen Frears
Otdat Konci, directed by Taisia Igumentseva
Seduced and Abandoned, directed by James Toback
Stop the Pounding Heart, directed by Roberto Minervini
Week End of a Champion, directed by Roman Polanski

Un Certain Regard:
Anonymous, directed by Mohammad Rasoulof
As I Lay Dying, directed by James Franco
Bends, directed by Flora Lau
The Bling Ring, directed by Sofia Coppola (Opening Film)
Death March, directed by Adolfo Alix Jr.
Fruitvale Station, directed by Ryan Coogler
Grand Central, directed by Rebecca Zlotowski
L'Image Manquante, directed by Rithy Panh
L'Inconnu du Lac, directed by Alain Guiraudie
La Jaula de Oro, directed by Diego Quemada-Diez
Miele, directed by Valeria Golino
Norte, Hangganan Ng Kasaysayan, directed by Lav Diaz
Omar, directed by Hany Abu-Assad
Les Salauds, directed by Claire Denis
Sarah Prefere La Course, directed by Chloé Robichaud

Midnight Movies
Monsoon Shootout, directed by Amit Kumar
Blind Detective, directed by Johnnie To

Gala Screening, Tribute to India
Bombay Talkies, directed by Anurag Kashyap, Didakar Banerjee, Zoya Akhtar, Karan Johar

Tribute to Jerry Lewis
Max Rose, directed by Daniel Noah

On the juries, American director Steven Spielberg has been tapped to be this year's President for the main competition in Cannes, while Danish filmmaker Thomas Vinterberg—at the festival last year with The Hunt—is heading up the jury for the festival's Un Certain Regard section. Meanwhile, the jury for the Cinefondation section will be lead by Australian auteur Jane Campion.

Eugene Hernandez is the Director of Digital Strategy for the Film Society of Lincoln Center. Follow him on Twitter: @eug. Brian Brooks (Twitter: @BrooksID) contributed to this article and will also be covering Cannes for FilmLinc this year.