Tickets to Film Society of Lincoln Center's 39th Chaplin Award Gala honoring celebrated French actress Catherine Deneuve are now on sale to the public! Tickets are valid for the Cocktail Reception and Tribute in Lincoln Center's Alice Tully Hall on April 2. Following the Tribute, there will be a dinner by Chef Daniel Boulud's Feast & Fetes Catering. For inquires regarding dinner tickets and tables (limited availability) please contact us at or 212-875-5685. For more information, to view a seating chart, or to purchase tickets, click here.

Catherine Deneuve will receive the Film Society of Lincoln Center's 39th Chaplin Award on Monday, April 2, 2012 in New York City. The annual gala is the Film Society's largest annual fundraiser, benefiting the ongoing programs of the Film Society of Lincoln Center.

At an Alice Tully Hall ceremony, an array of notable guests and celebrities will salute Catherine Deneuve. The evening will include films clips and a cocktail party prior to the ceremony to celebrate Deneuve's career in cinema.

The daughter of French actors, Deneuve's career spans five decades, from the film Les Portes Claquent (The Door Slams) to her latest, Christophe Honoré's Les Biens-aimés (The Beloved), from last year's Cannes Film Festival.

Denueve gained wide acclaim for her role in Jacques Demy's 1964 film, Les Parapluies de Cherbourg (The Umbrella's of Cherbourg). In the 1960s and '70s she became an unforgettable presence in films such as Roman Polanski’s Repulsion (1965), Demy’s and Agnes Vardas’ Les Demoiselles de Rochefort  (The Young Girls of Rochefort) (1967), Terence Young’s Mayerling (1968), François Truffaut’s La Siréne du Mississippi (Mississippi Mermaid) (1969), Stuart Rosenberg’s The April Fools (1969), and Luis Bunuel’s Belle de Jour (1967) and Tristana (1970). Other notable films leading into the 80’s were Demy's Peau d'âne (Donkey Skin) (1970), Jean-Pierre Melville's Un Flic (Dirty Money) (1971), Robert Aldrich’s Hustle (1975), Claude Berri's Je vous aime (I Love You All) (1980), Truffaut’s Le Dernier Métro (The Last Metro) (1980) – for which she won the César Award for Best Actress, and Tony Scott’s The Hunger (1983).

Catherine Deneuve received an Academy Award nomination for best actress (and won her second César Award) for her role in the 1992 film, Indochine. 1995’s O convento (The Convent) for acclaimed Portuguese filmmaker Manoel de Oliveira followed. Lars von Trier’s Dancer In the Dark (2000) was another high point among her recent films, as well as her work in François Ozon's 8 Femmes (8 Women) (2002), de Oliveira's Je rentre la maison (I'm Going Home) (2001), Um filme falado (A Talking Picture) (2003), Vincent paronnaud’s and Marjane Satrapi’s Persepolis (2008) and Arnaud Despléchin’s A Christmas Tale (2008). Most recently, she reteamed with Ozon to star in the comedy Potiche (2010).

“It will be an honor to have Catherine Deneuve join our list of past honorees. It will be a joy to create an evening of style and grace befitting such an iconic screen presence,” said FSLC Executive Director Rose Kuo.

The Film Society’s Annual Gala began in 1972 and honored Charles Chaplin – who returned to the US from exile to accept the commendation. Since then, the award has been renamed for Chaplin, and has honored many of the film industry’s most notable talents, including Alfred Hitchcock, Billy Wilder, Laurence Olivier, Federico Fellini, Elizabeth Taylor, Bette Davis, James Stewart, Robert Altman, Martin Scorsese, Diane Keaton, Meryl Streep, Tom Hanks, Michael Douglas and most recently, Sidney Poitier.

Past Film Society of Lincoln Center Chaplin Award Honorees:
2011 Sidney Poitier
2010 Michael Douglas
2009 Tom Hanks
2008 Meryl Streep
2007 Diane Keaton
2006 Jessica Lange
2005 Dustin Hoffman
2004 Michael Caine
2003 Susan Sarandon
2002 Francis Ford Coppola
2001 Jane Fonda
2000 Al Pacino
1999 Mike Nichols
1998 Martin Scorsese
1997 Sean Connery
1996 Clint Eastwood
1995 Shirley MacLaine
1994 Robert Altman
1993 Jack Lemmon
1992 Gregory Peck
1991 Audrey Hepburn
1990 James Stewart
1989 Bette Davis
1988 Yves Montand
1987 Alec Guinness
1986 Elizabeth Taylor
1985 Federico Fellini
1984 Claudette Colbert
1983 Laurence Olivier
1982 Billy Wilder
1981 Barbara Stanwyck
1980 John Huston
1979 Bob Hope
1978 George Cukor
1975 Joanne Woodward & Paul Newman
1974 Alfred Hitchcock
1973 Fred Astaire
1972 Charles Chaplin