Inside Llewyn Davis, the new film from the Coen Brothers (pictured above), won the top prize at the 23rd Gotham Independent Film Awards presented on Monday night at Cipriani Wall Street in Manhattan. The movie, a prize-winner at this year's Cannes Film Festival and then a favorite at the recent New York Film Festival, was celebrated in the city where its story is set. A look at the life of a frustrated folk singer in the 1960s, the Coen's latest was honored just days before it is set to open in American theaters.

The Act of Killing, the provocative new documentary that stoked discussions at numerous film festivals — including the New Directors/New Films series back in the spring — won the award for best documentary at the event. Directed by Joshua Oppenheimer, the non fiction film exposes the perpetrators of the Indonesian genocide to the horrors of their actions by engaging them in on screen recreations of their atrocities. 

Another big winner at the IFP fundraiser was Ryan Coogler's Fruitvale Station, the true story of police brutality in California's Bay Area. A look at the tragic story of Oscar Grant, a young man who was beaten to death by transit cops, the film was celebrated with multiple awards nearly one year ago at the Sundance Film Festival. On Monday night at the Gotham Awards it won the Bingham Ray Breakthrough Director Award for Coogler and the breakthrough acting prize for lead Michael B. Jordan.

Best acting awards this year went Matthew McConaughey for his role in Dallas Buyers Club and Brie Larson for her performance in Short Term 12. The organization also presented tributes to director Richard Linklater, actor Forest Whitaker, New York City Film & TV commissioner Katherine Oliver and the late James Gandolfini.

The complete list of Gotham Independent Film Award winners is below:

Best Feature
Inside Llewyn Davis – Joel Coen and Ethan Coen, directors; Scott Rudin, Joel Coen, Ethan Coen, producers
Best Documentary
The Act of Killing – Joshua Oppenheimer, director; Signe Byrge, Joshua Oppenheimer, producers
Bingham Ray Breakthrough Director Award
Ryan Coogler for Fruitvale Station

Best Actor
Matthew McConaughey in Dallas Buyers Club
Best Actress
Brie Larson in Short Term 12 
Breakthrough Actor
Michael B. Jordan in Fruitvale Station
Spotlight on Women Filmmakers ‘Live the Dream’ Grant
Gita Pullapilly, director, Beneath the Harvest Sky

Audience Award
Jake Shimabukuro: Life on Four Strings, director, Tadashi Nakamura