Destin Cretton's Short Term 12

The SXSW Film Festival culminated its major events Tuesday night with a lively awards show in Austin's ornate Paramount Theatre, handing out top prizes to writer-director Destin Cretton's Short Term 12 (Grand Jury Prize, Narrative Feature) and Ben Nabors's William and the Windmill (Grand Jury Prize, Documentary Feature)

Short Term 12 centers on a 20-something supervising staff member of a foster care facility who navigates the troubled waters of that world alongside her co-worker and longtime boyfriend. William and the Windmill revolves around William Kamkwamba, a young Malawian, who builds a power-generating windmill from junk parts to rescue his family from famine, transforming his life and catapulting him onto the the world stage.

In an emotional acceptance speech, Destin Cretton said, “I've been crying through this whole thing. To call this a competition is silly because nothing has brought me more joy. This film is about people who bring together a family who don't have one. This whole festival is a family…”

Also taking home jury Special Prizes were Burma and The Retrieval in the Narrative category, while We Always Lie to Strangers and Touba won Special Jury Prizes in documentary in recognition of Directing and Cinematography, respectively.

SXSW '13 Feature Prize Winners:

Narrative Feature – Grand Jury Winner: Short Term 12
Special Jury Prize (Ensemble Cast): Burma
Special Jury Prize (Acting): Tishuan Scott, The Retrieval

Documentary Feature – Grand Jury Winner: William and the Windmill
Special Jury Prize for Directing: We Always Lie to Stangers
Special Jury Prize (Cinematography): Touba

Shorts Film Jury Awards:

Narrative Short – Ellen Is Leaving

(Honorable Mentions: Sequin Raze and Skin)
Documentary Shorts – SLOMO
Animated Shorts – Oh Willy

Midnight Shorts –
The Apocalypse
Music Videos – Vitalic, Stamina
Texas High School Short Film Jury Award – The Benefactress

Additional Prizes:

SXSW Film Design Awards
Excellence in Poster Design – Kiss of the Damned
Excellence in Title Design – Joven Y Alocada

SXSW Chicken & Egg Emergent Narrative Woman Director Award – Hannel Fiddel, A Teacher

(Honorable Mention: Zero Charisma)

Louis Black Lone Star Award – Loves Her Gun

Karen Schmeer Fellowship (For Editor) –  Jim Hession (Marina Abramovic – The Artist is Present)