Film Comment is excited to collaborate with the Locarno Film Festival on an experimental streaming format, “The Future of Attention.” A continuous 24-hour talk involving three moderators and 24 guests—including filmmakers, thinkers, curators, and more—the event will explore the workings of attention in modern film and media culture. As part of the event, FC Co-Deputy Editor Devika Girish will moderate the following conversations:

August 10
4:00pm ET | Helena Wittmann
5:00pm ET | Coline Confort, Zhaoyuefan, Julie Sando
6:00pm ET | Kamal Aljafari
7:00pm ET | Anna Eriksson

August 11
08:00am ET | Giovanni Carmine
09:00am ET | Julia Murat
10:00am ET | Hito Steyerl
11:00am ET | Kevin B. Lee

The event is curated by USI researcher Rafael Dernbach, in collaboration with USI Università della Svizzera italiana, BaseCamp and Film CommentIt can be experienced in person at the Locarno Film Festival at Instituto Sant’Eugenio or via livestream on Twitch and on the Film Comment website.