New York, NY (January 11, 2012) – The Film Society of Lincoln Center has announced that Academy Award-nominee Catherine Deneuve will be honored at the 39th Annual Chaplin Award Gala held in Alice Tully Hall on the evening of Monday, April 2, 2012. The event will be attended by a host of notable guests and celebrities honoring the international film legend’s groundbreaking career and will feature film and interview clips culminating in the presentation of The Chaplin Award.

“The Board is very excited to have Catherine Deneuve as the next recipient of The Chaplin Award,” said Ann Tenenbaum, The Film Society of Lincoln Center’s Board Chairman. “She is not simply one of the screen’s greatest and most iconic beauties and muse to some of international cinemas most notable auteurs, but has delivered rich and complex characters that continue to live with us for five decades now. It will be an honor to showcase her amazing body of work.”

The Film Society’s Annual Gala began in 1972 and honored Charles Chaplin – who returned to the US from exile to accept the commendation. Since then, the award has been renamed for Chaplin, and has honored many of the film industry’s most notable talents, including Alfred Hitchcock, Billy Wilder, Laurence Olivier, Federico Fellini, Elizabeth Taylor, Bette Davis, James Stewart, Robert Altman, Martin Scorsese, Diane Keaton, Meryl Streep, Tom Hanks, Michael Douglas and most recently, Sidney Poitier.

“It will be an honor to have Catherine Deneuve join our list of past honorees. It will be a joy to create an evening of style and grace befitting such an iconic screen presence,” said FSLC Executive Director Rose Kuo.

Born to parents who were French actors, Deneuve’s acting career has spanned five decades beginning with THE DOOR SLAMS (Les Portes Claquet) (1960) and followed by her acclaimed performance in Jacques Demy's romantic classic THE UMBRELLAS OF CHERBOURG (1964).
During the 1960s and '70s, Deneuve became an unforgettable presence in films such as Roman Polanski’s REPULSION (1965), Demy’s and Agnes Vardas’ THE YOUNG GIRLS OF ROCHEFORT (1967), Terence Young’s MAYERLING (1968), François Truffaut’s MISSISSIPPI MERMAID (La Siréne du Mississippi) (1969), Stuart Rosenberg’s THE APRIL FOOLS (1969), and Luis Bunuel’s BELLE DE JOUR (1967) and TRISTANA (1970).
Other notable films leading into the 80’s were Demy's DONKEY SKIN (Peau d'âne) (1970), Jean-Pierre Melville's DIRTY MONEY (Un Flic) (1971), Robert Aldrich’s HUSTLE (1975), Claude Berri's I LOVE YOU ALL (Je vous aime) (1980), Truffaut’s THE LAST METRO (Le Dernier Métro) (1980) – for which she won the César Award for Best Actress, and Tony Scott’s THE HUNGER (1983).
Deneuve received an Academy Award nomination for Best Actress (and won her second César Award) for her role in INDOCHINE (1992). 1995’s THE CONVENT (O convento) for acclaimed Portuguese filmmaker Manoel de Oliveira followed. Lars von Trier’s DANCER IN THE DARK (2000) was another high point among her recent films, as well as her work in François Ozon's 8 WOMEN (8 Femmes) (2002), de Oliveira's I’M GOING HOME (Je rentre la maison) (2001), A TALKING PICTURE (Une Filme falado) (2003) Vincent paronnaud’s and Marjane Satrapi’s PERSEPOLIS (2008) and Arnaud Despléchin’s A CHRISTMAS TALE (2008). Most recently, she reteamed with Ozon to star in the comedy POTICHE (2010).
Denueve has a son, Christian Vadim (with the director, Roger Vadim) and a daughter, Chiara Mastroianni (with actor Marcello Mastroianni).

For ticketing and additional information, contact 212.875.5685 or

Film Society of Lincoln Center
Under the leadership of Rose Kuo, Executive Director, and Richard Peña, Program Director, the Film Society of Lincoln Center offers the best in international, classic and cutting-edge independent cinema. The Film Society presents two film festivals that attract global attention: the New York Film Festival, currently planning its 50th edition, and New Directors/New Films which, since its founding in 1972, has been produced in collaboration with MoMA. The Film Society also publishes the award-winning Film Comment Magazine, and for over three decades has given an annual award—now named “The Chaplin Award”—to a major figure in world cinema. Past recipients of this award include Charlie Chaplin, Alfred Hitchcock, Martin Scorsese, Meryl Streep, and Tom Hanks. The Film Society presents a year-round calendar of programming, panels, lectures, educational programs and specialty film releases at its Walter Reade Theater and the new state-of-the-art Elinor Bunin Munroe Film Center.

The Film Society receives generous, year-round support from Royal Bank of Canada, 42BELOW, American Airlines, The New York Times, Stella Artois, the National Endowment for the Arts, WNET New York Public Media, the National Endowment for the Arts and New York State Council on the Arts. For more information, visit

For Media specific inquiries, please contact:
John Wildman, (212) 875-5419

David Ninh, (212) 875-5423