FROM MARCH 20-31, 2013



Monday, November 12, 2012 (New York, NY) – The Museum of Modern Art and the Film Society of Lincoln Center will present the 42nd edition of New Directors/New Films (ND/NF) from March 20-31, 2013.  This year’s festival will welcome two new programmers to the ND/NF team, FSLC’s Director of Year-Round Programming, Robert Koehler, and MoMA Associate Curator Joshua Siegel, who have replaced FSLC Program Director Richard Peña and MoMA Senior Film Curator Laurence Kardish. Peña will step down from his role as Program Director at the end of the year and Kardish retired in October. The New Directors/New Films selection committee members from both presenting organizations include: from the Film Society of Lincoln Center, Robert Koehler, Marian Masone, and Gavin Smith; and from The Museum of Modern Art, Jytte Jensen, Rajendra Roy and Joshua Siegel.

“I have long admired and respected the vision and film knowledge of both Bob and Josh so it's with great pleasure to welcome them to the New Director's selection committee” said FSLC Executive Director Rose Kuo. “They join the stellar team of Raj, Jytte, Marian and Gavin to bring exciting new voices in cinema to New York audiences. “

Submissions for the upcoming ND/NF are now open – visit for the entry form, and the deadline for entries is January 9, 2013. There is no fee for submitting films, but applicants must adhere to the following guidelines:

– Entries must be New York premieres and must have been completed in 2012 or 2013. Films shown in other festivals or public screenings in New York are not eligible for consideration. (The Committee reserves the right to waive this rule in the case of small non-commercial, non-publicized showings.)

– Work can be submitted on DVD, HDCam, Digibeta or streaming video. DVD submissions will not be returned.

– Works of all lengths will be considered. There are no separate categories for feature length and short films.

– Films in any language other than English must be subtitled in English.

All applicants will be notified of the Committee’s decision by email by March 1, 2013. To apply, and for additional information, visit

New Directors/New Films
Dedicated to the discovery and support of emerging artists, New Directors/New Films has earned an international reputation as the premier festival for works that break or re-cast the cinematic mold.  The New Directors/New Films selection committee is made up of members from both presenting organizations: from The Film Society of Lincoln Center, Robert Koehler, Marian Masone, and Gavin Smith; and from The Museum of Modern Art, Jytte Jensen, Rajendra Roy and Josh Siegel.

The Museum of Modern Art
Founded in 1929 as an educational institution, The Museum of Modern Art is dedicated to being the foremost museum of modern art in the world. The Museum of Modern Art’s Department of Film was established in 1935 as the Film Library, and today is recognized as holding the strongest international film collection in the United States, incorporating all periods and genres. Totaling over 27,000 titles and 4 million film stills, the collection spans the entire history of film.  Among its holdings are the original negatives of the Biograph and Edison companies, the D.W. Griffith, Douglas Fairbanks, David O. Selznick, Andy Warhol, and Joseph Cornell collections, contemporary films from Hollywood and around the world, and significant collections of film stills, scripts, posters, and other study materials.  Works in the collection are made available through the Film Study Center and exhibition programs, and which are stored in the Celeste Bartos Film Preservation Center, a state-of-the-art facility that opened in June 1996 in Hamlin, Pennsylvania. Under the direction of Rajendra Roy, The Celeste Bartos Chief Curator of Film, MoMA’s Department of Film organizes public screenings of some 700 films each year in The Roy and Niuta Titus Theaters. The kaleidoscopic programming encompasses all genres and forms of cinema, from classic and repertory to experimental and contemporary.

Under the leadership of Rose Kuo, Executive Director, and Richard Peña, Program Director, the Film Society of Lincoln Center offers the best in international, classic and cutting-edge independent cinema. The Film Society presents two film festivals that attract global attention: the New York Film Festival, having just celebrated its 50th edition, and New Directors/New Films which, since its founding in 1972, has been produced in collaboration with MoMA. The Film Society also publishes the award-winning Film Comment Magazine, and for over three decades has given an annual award—now named “The Chaplin Award”—to a major figure in world cinema. Past recipients of this award include Charlie Chaplin, Alfred Hitchcock, Martin Scorsese, Meryl Streep, and Tom Hanks. The Film Society presents a year-round calendar of programming, panels, lectures, educational programs and specialty film releases at its Walter Reade Theater and the new state-of-the-art Elinor Bunin Munroe Film Center.

The Film Society receives generous, year-round support from Royal Bank of Canada, American Airlines, The New York Times, Stella Artois, the National Endowment for the Arts and New York State Council on the Arts. For more information, visit  and follow #filmlinc on Twitter.

For Media specific inquiries, please contact:

Film Society of Lincoln Center
John Wildman, (212) 875-5419

David Ninh, (212) 875-5423

The Museum of Modern Art
Sarah Jarvis, (212) 708-9757