The 64th Berlin International Film Festival climaxed tonight with the event's awards. Asian entry Black Coal, Thin Ice won the Berlinale's top Golden Bear for Best Feature Film award. Diao Yinan's Mandarin language film is the third feature by the Chinese director.

[Related: Richard Linklater and Cast Have Their Say on ‘Boyhood’]

“It's really hard to believe that this dream has come true — a dream that I've had for such a long time and that didn't come true for such a long time,” director Diao Yinan said accepting the prize for his detective thriller. “It's wonderful.” Black Coal star Liao Fan won the Best Actor prize for his role in the  film.

The Best Actress prize went to Haru Kuroki for her role in The Little House by Yoji Yamada.

In other prizes selected by the jury, lead by for screenwriter and former Focus Features head James Schamus, Richard Linklater won the Best Director award for his film Boyhood, while Berlinale opener The Grand Budapest Hotel by Wes Anderson was awarded the Silver Bear, the fest's runner-up award.

Prizes of the International Jury: 

Golden Bear for Best Film (awarded to the film’s producer): Bai Ri Yan Huo (Black Coal, Thin Ice) by Diao Yinan

Silver Bear Grand Jury Prize: The Grand Budapest Hotel by Wes Anderson

Silver Bear for Best Director: Richard Linklater for Boyhood

Silver Bear for Best Actress: Haru Kuroki in Chiisai Ouchi (The Little House) by Yoji Yamada

Silver Bear for Best Actor:  Liao Fan in Bai Ri Yan Huo (Black Coal, Thin Ice) by Diao Yinan

Silver Bear for Best Script: Dietrich Brüggemann, Anna Brüggemann for Kreuzweg (Stations of the Cross) by Dietrich Brüggemann

Silver Bear for Outstanding Artistic Contribution (in the categories camera, editing, music score costume or set design): Zeng Jian for the camera in Tui Na (Blind Massage) by Lou Ye

Best First Feature Award – Güeros by Alonso Ruizpalacios

Prizes of the International Short Film Jury

Golden Bear for Best Short Film: Tant qu'il nous reste des fusils à pompe (As long as shotguns remain) 
by Caroline Poggi, Jonathan Vinel

Silver Bear Jury Prize (Short Film): Laborat by Guillaume Cailleau

Berlin Short Film Nominee for the European Film Awards: Taprobana by Gabriel Abrantes

DAAD Short Film Prize: Person to Person Person by Dustin Guy Defa

Silver Bear Alfred Bauer Prize (for a feature film that opens new perspectives): Aimer, boire et chanter (Life of Riley) by Alain Resnais

Teddy Awards (for gay films):

Best First Feature: Hoje Eu Quero Voltar Sozinho (The Way He Looks) by Daniel Ribeiro
Best Documentary: Der Kreis (The Circle) by Stefan Haupt

Best Short Film: Mondial 2010 (Mondial 2010) by Roy Dib

Teddy Jury Award: Pierrot Lunaire  by Bruce LaBruce