Michel Hazanavicius’ The Artist won the top prize from the New York Film Critics Circle today as thirty three film critics voted on the best films and performances of 2011. The group, formed in 1935, gathered this morning at the Film Society of Lincoln Center’s Elinor Bunin Munroe Film Center to conduct their annual vote.

The awards will be presented at a New York City ceremony on January 9, 2012.

The full list of winners:

Best Director
Michel Hazanavicius for The Artist
Best Screenplay
Steven Zaillian and Aaron Sorkin for Moneyball
Best Actor
Brad Pitt for Moneyball and The Tree of Life
Best Actress
Meryl Streep for The Iron Lady
Best Supporting Actor
Albert Brooks for Drive
Best Supporting Actress
Jessica Chastain for The Tree of Life, The Help and Take Shelter
Best Foreign Language Film
A Separation
Best Cinematography
Emmanuel Lubezki for The Tree of Life
Best Nonfiction Film
Cave of Forgotten Dreams
Best First Feature
Margin Call
Special Award to be given to filmmaker Raoul Ruiz