The poster for the 55th New York Film Festival (September 28 – October 15), designed by sculptor, filmmaker, and video artist Richard Serra has been unveiled. NYFF posters are a yearly artistic signature of the film festival, and Serra joins a stellar lineup of artists whose work has been commissioned for the festival, including Andy Warhol, Roy Lichtenstein, David Hockney, Julian Schnabel, Cindy Sherman, and last year’s artist, Apichatpong Weerasethakul. The new poster design, alongside the complete list of NYFF poster artists to date, can be found below.

“Richard Serra’s work has never stopped growing in my mind and memory,” said New York Film Festival Director Kent Jones. “During every one of my many visits to MoMA’s 2007 retrospective and to the permanent installations in Dia:Beacon, alone or with loved ones, I could feel everyone’s sense of the possible opening a couple of clicks wider. I was excited that he agreed to design this year’s NYFF poster, but when I saw the design I was taken aback—so wondrously elemental, and in such absolute harmony with the art of cinema.”

Serra says his design for this year’s poster effectively reflects and references the camera eye, explaining, “The image I selected for the poster is the interior of an 80’ tower sculpture in Qatar which functions as an aperture and seemed to me to make sense.”


One of the preeminent artists of the 20th century, Richard Serra has long been acclaimed for his challenging and innovative work, which emphasizes materiality and a unique engagement with the viewer. His most well-known works are large-scale steel sculptures, placed creatively in space to invite a dynamic, interactive experience. Serra has been a consistent participant in documenta, the Venice Biennale, and the Whitney Museum of American Art’s Annual and Biennial over the last 30+ years. He has had solo exhibitions across the globe, in cities including Rio de Janeiro, Rome, Doha, Amsterdam, Paris, Munich, Madrid, and Naples. In 2005, eight large-scale works by Serra were installed permanently at the Guggenheim Museum Bilbao, and in 2007 The Museum of Modern Art, New York presented a major retrospective of the artist’s work.

Serra has been awarded numerous prizes and awards, including a Fulbright Grant; National Endowment for the Arts Fellowship; The Carnegie Prize; Praemium Imperiale, Japan Arts Association; Leone d’Oro; Premios Principas de Asturias and Chevelier of the French Legion of Honor; among others. An overview of the artist’s work in film and video will be on view at the Kunstmuseum Basel from May to October 2017; and the artist’s recent drawings will be featured in a solo exhibition at the Museum Boijmans van Beuningen, Rotterdam from June to September 2017.

These limited-edition posters will be available for purchase in September. Check back on

Tickets for the 55th New York Film Festival will go on sale September 10. VIP passes and packages are on sale now and offer one of the earliest opportunities to purchase tickets and secure seats at some of the festival’s biggest events, including the just-announced Opening Night. Purchase by June 25th and save $50 on all packages.

The complete list of NYFF poster artists:

Larry Rivers, 1963
Saul Bass, 1964
Bruce Conner, 1965
Roy Lichtenstein, 1966
Andy Warhol, 1967
Henry Pearson, 1968
Marisol (Escobar), 1969
James Rosenquist, 1970
Frank Stella, 1971
Josef Albers, 1972
Niki de Saint Phalle, 1973
Jean Tinguely, 1974
Carol Summers, 1975
Allan D’Arcangelo, 1976
Jim Dine, 1977
Richard Avedon, 1978
Michelangelo Pistoletto, 1979
Les Levine, 1980
David Hockney, 1981
Robert Rauschenberg, 1982
Jack Youngerman, 1983
Robert Breer, 1984
Tom Wesselmann, 1985
Elinor Bunin, 1986
Sol Lewitt, 1987
Milton Glaser, 1988
Jennifer Bartlett, 1989
Eric Fischl, 1990
Philip Pearlstein, 1991
William Wegman, 1992
Sheila Metzner, 1993
William Copley, 1994
Diane Arbus, 1995
Juan Gatti, 1996
Larry Rivers, 1997
Martin Scorsese, 1998
Ivan Chermayeff, 1999
Tamar Hirschl, 2000
Manny Farber, 2001
Julian Schnabel, 2002
Junichi Taki, 2003
Jeff Bridges, 2004
Maurice Pialat, 2005
Mary Ellen Mark, 2006
agnès b., 2007
Robert Cottingham, 2008
Gregory Crewdson, 2009
John Baldessari, 2010
Lorna Simpson, 2011
Cindy Sherman, 2012
Tacita Dean, 2013
Laurie Simmons, 2014
Laurie Anderson, 2015
Apichatpong Weerasethakul, 2016