Film at Lincoln Center announces a call for short film submissions beginning today for the 62nd New York Film Festival (NYFF), taking place from September 27 to October 13, 2024. Returning every fall, NYFF has been an enduring part of New York’s rich cultural and historical landscape since 1963. Produced by Film at Lincoln Center, the 62nd edition will run 17 days and promises another slate of essential cinematic offerings from around the world.

Short film submissions will be accepted via FilmFreeway from February 26 through May 6, and for the duration of this window, the entry fee is $50. This fee will help fund a seasonal staff of short film submissions screeners as well as additional festival operations, including artist support. NYFF is noncompetitive, and all sections are curated by the selection committee with support from an international roster of programming advisors and screeners. Only short films (40 minutes or less) are accepted through FilmFreeway. 

Short films submitted on FilmFreeway are considered for NYFFs Currents section. A complement to NYFFs Main Slate, Currents traces a more complete picture of contemporary cinema, with an emphasis on new and innovative voices. The section presents a diverse offering of short, medium, and feature-length work by filmmakers and artists working at the vanguard of narrative, documentary, and experimental modes.

More information about previous selections in Currents can be found at FilmFreeway.

NYFF’s call for short film submissions provides an opportunity for new and emerging filmmakers to share their work. In addition to short film submissions collected via FilmFreeway, the NYFF62 selection committee considers recommendations from alumni and industry colleagues, as well as work that has premiered in international festivals and galleries since the previous edition of NYFF. Submitted films will be evaluated by NYFF62 programming staff and considered equally with all other prospective entrants. All films submitted through FilmFreeway will be notified of their status by August 16. 

The NYFF62 team

Dennis Lim, Artistic Director
Matt Bolish, Managing Director

  • Main Slate and Spotlight programmers: Dennis Lim (chair), Florence Almozini, Justin Chang, K. Austin Collins, Rachel Rosen
  • Currents programmers: Dennis Lim (chair), Aily Nash, Rachael Rakes, Tyler Wilson
  • Head Shorts programmers: Aily Nash, Tyler Wilson
  • Revivals programmers: Florence Almozini, Dan Sullivan
  • Talks programmers: Devika Girish and Madeline Whittle, in collaboration with Dennis Lim
  • NYFF62 Advisors: Violeta Bava, Michelle Carey, Leo Goldsmith, Gina Telaroli
  • Student Screenings: Adeline Monzier
  • Currents Shorts Screeners: Jac Renée Bruneau, Marius Hrdy, Aniko Kovecsi, Vikram Murthi, Cici Peng, Mariana Sánchez Bueno, Herb Shellenberger