NEW YORK, NY (May 19, 2016) – The Film Society of Lincoln Center unveiled today the poster for the 54th New York Film Festival (September 30 – October 16), designed by acclaimed filmmaker Apichatpong Weerasethakul. NYFF posters are looked upon as a yearly artistic “signature” for the film festival, and Weerasethakul joins a stellar lineup of artists whose work has been commissioned for the festival, including Andy Warhol, Roy Lichtenstein, David Hockney, Julian Schnabel, Cindy Sherman, and last year’s artist, Laurie Anderson. A link to download the new poster design, alongside the complete list of NYFF poster artists to date, can be found below.

“Apichatpong Weerasethakul is more than just a ‘logical’ choice to do our poster—he’s one of the world’s greatest filmmakers and he works in the visual arts,” said New York Film Festival Director Kent Jones. “I knew that he would send us something extraordinary: a beautifully wrought, self-contained little world. The more you concentrate on the image, the more detail you see, and the further your dream extends. The NYFF has had many great posters designed by a long list of great artists, but this is one of the very best.”

The renowned Thai filmmaker and artist, whose works deal with memory and subtly address personal politics and social issues, has had a fruitful relationship with the New York Film Festival for over a decade. Four of his films have been selected for the official NYFF lineup: Tropical Malady (2004), Syndromes and a Century (2006), the Palme d’Or–winning Uncle Boonmee Who Can Recall His Past Lives (2010), and Cemetery of Splendor (2015). In 2002, Apichatpong’s debut narrative feature Blissfully Yours won the Un Certain Regard prize at the Cannes Film Festival.

Along with his features, Apichatpong is known for his short films and art installations. His work has been featured in exhibitions across the globe, including solo shows at the New Museum in New York, the National Museum of Modern Art in Paris, the Irish Museum of Modern Art, the Munich Film Museum, and many more. His art prizes include the Sharjah Biennial Prize (2013), the prestigious Yanghyun Prize (2014) in South Korea, and the Thai Ministry of Culture’s Silpatorn Award (2005).

The poster will be available for purchase at all venues during the New York Film Festival, September 30 – October 16.

Downloadable Poster Image:

The complete list of NYFF poster artists:

Larry Rivers, 1963

Saul Bass, 1964

Bruce Conner, 1965

Roy Lichtenstein, 1966

Andy Warhol, 1967

Henry Pearson, 1968

Marisol (Escobar), 1969

James Rosenquist, 1970

Frank Stella, 1971

Josef Albers, 1972

Niki de Saint Phalle, 1973

Jean Tinguely, 1974

Carol Summers, 1975

Allan D’Arcangelo, 1976

Jim Dine, 1977

Richard Avedon, 1978

Michelangelo Pistoletto, 1979

Les Levine, 1980

David Hockney, 1981

Robert Rauschenberg, 1982

Jack Youngerman, 1983

Robert Breer, 1984

Tom Wesselmann, 1985

Elinor Bunin, 1986

Sol Lewitt, 1987

Milton Glaser, 1988

Jennifer Bartlett, 1989

Eric Fischl, 1990

Philip Pearlstein, 1991

William Wegman, 1992

Sheila Metzner, 1993

William Copley, 1994

Diane Arbus, 1995

Juan Gatti, 1996

Larry Rivers, 1997

Martin Scorsese, 1998

Ivan Chermayeff, 1999

Tamar Hirschl, 2000

Manny Farber, 2001

Julian Schnabel, 2002

Junichi Taki, 2003

Jeff Bridges, 2004

Maurice Pialat, 2005

Mary Ellen Mark, 2006

agnès b., 2007

Robert Cottingham, 2008

Gregory Crewdson, 2009

John Baldessari, 2010

Lorna Simpson, 2011

Cindy Sherman, 2012

Tacita Dean, 2013

Laurie Simmons, 2014

Laurie Anderson, 2015

Founded in 1969 to celebrate American and international cinema, the Film Society of Lincoln Center works to recognize established and emerging filmmakers, support important new work, and to enhance the awareness, accessibility, and understanding of the moving image. The Film Society produces the renowned New York Film Festival, a curated selection of the year’s most significant new film work, and presents or collaborates on other annual New York City festivals including Art of the Real, Dance on Camera, Film Comment Selects, Human Rights Watch Film Festival, New Directors/New Films, New York African Film Festival, New York Asian Film Festival, New York Jewish Film Festival, Open Roads: New Italian Cinema, Rendez-Vous with French Cinema, and Scary Movies. In addition to publishing the award-winning Film Comment magazine, the Film Society recognizes an artist’s unique achievement in film with the prestigious Chaplin Award, whose 2016 recipient was Morgan Freeman. The Film Society’s state-of-the-art Walter Reade Theater and the Elinor Bunin Munroe Film Center, located at Lincoln Center, provide a home for year-round programs and the New York City film community.

The Film Society receives generous, year-round support from American Airlines, The New York Times, HBO, Stella Artois, The Kobal Collection, Variety, Loews Regency Hotel, the National Endowment for the Arts, and the New York State Council on the Arts. For more information, visit and follow @filmlinc on Twitter.  

Support for the New York Film Festival is also generously provided by Jaeger-LeCoultre.

For media specific inquiries regarding the Film Society of Lincoln Center please contact:

Rachel Allen,, 212-875-5423

Lisa Thomas,, 212-671-4709