The Film Society of Lincoln Center is pleased to announce that Jeremy Irons, Morgan Freeman, and Julie Taymor have been added as presenters for the 45th Chaplin Award Gala honoring Helen Mirren on Monday, April 30, 2018 in Alice Tully Hall.

Mirren starred as Prospera in Julie Taymor’s Shakespeare adaptation The Tempest (2010), while Jeremy Irons worked with her on the TV miniseries Elizabeth I (2005), playing the Earl of Leicester to her queen. Freeman appeared alongside Mirren in both RED (2010) and RED 2 (2013), and she presented him with the Chaplin Award at the 2016 gala. Mikhail Baryshnikov, Vin Diesel, and Taylor Hackford were previously announced as presenters.

The Chaplin Award Gala will celebrate the Academy Award–winning actress and beloved figure of stage, screen, and television who has bestowed upon the world a series of iconic performances in a career spanning more than fifty years. The annual event will be attended by a host of notable guests and presenters and will include movie and interview clips, culminating in the presentation of the Chaplin Award.

The gala is the Film Society’s largest annual fundraiser, and aids its mission to support the art and craft of cinema and enrich film culture via year-round programming; education initiatives; Film Comment magazine; Artist, Critic, and Industry academies; and much more.

The Film Society’s Annual Gala began in 1972 when it honored Charlie Chaplin, who returned to the U.S. from exile to accept the commendation. Since then, the award has been renamed for Chaplin, and has been presented to many of the film industry’s most notable talents, including Alfred Hitchcock, Billy Wilder, Laurence Olivier, Federico Fellini, Elizabeth Taylor, Bette Davis, James Stewart, Robert Altman, Martin Scorsese, Diane Keaton, Meryl Streep, Tom Hanks, Sidney Poitier, Barbra Streisand, Robert Redford, Morgan Freeman, and, last year, Robert De Niro.

For information about attending the gala, please contact our Patron’s Desk at [email protected] or call (212) 875-5076. For sponsorship opportunities, please contact [email protected] or call (212) 671-4559. Tickets are on sale now; for more information visit